Of Angels and Plants

The adventures of gardening

Updates April 28, 2010

Filed under: chickens,Dog/ Angel,garden — Aeneas Anchises' son @ 8:08 pm

I haven’t been writing often, which I should be as this is a garden journal. My dad got 5 healthy tomato plants (not sure which kind) from a coworker. I have transplanted them into bigger pots and have started some more cucumber seeds, as slugs seem particularly attracted to them. I am going to move them inside in hopes of deterring those little pests.  We also got 4 chicks! 2 Australorps and 2 Rhode Island Reds, all at around a week or a week and a half old. We set up a brooder for them inside. I wonder how we are going to get Angel used to them…

Oh, by the way, here is the foxhound herself:

And here are my chicks:

And some pictures of my plants:

my newly transplanted tomato: you can also see the salad seedlings around it

a closer look

A beautiful rose

I don’t know what type of rose this is.

another photo

The foliage is pretty – speckled sometimes (no, it’s not mold or some disease).

This plant produces a lot of small – about the size of the top of your pinky finger – beautiful pink rosehips in the autumn. This plant is beneath our nectarine tree, which unfortunately, while it has a lot of pinky-finger-sized nectarines, is heavily compromised by peach leaf curl, which has happened for the past 3 years or so.

 

9 Responses to “Updates”

  1. Merrilee Says:

    Are you sure that’s a rose? It looks like a camelia to me 🙂

    • No, the foliage is that of a rose, and it doesn’t have as many petals as a camelia.

      • Merrilee Says:

        Well that’s what I mean. Our roses are very heavily-petalled, whereas Camellias are open, and they have those glossy green, straight edged leaves. I wonder if it’s a local difference in common names?

  2. Probably, because when I looked up camellia on Yahoo, it came up with something else. I’ll put a photo of the foliage in the next post.

  3. I saw you on TH Mafi’s blog and I had to check your blog out because I looove your name.

    Also, I love the pics of your flowers and chicks. Someone got me two chicks for Easter several years ago. I didn’t really know what to do with them, so eventually they moved in with the farmer down the street, but they were sooooo cute.

    • Thanks! The name is from one of my favorite manga series, Xxxholic, by CLAMP. My chicks, unfortunately, are more gangly and awkward than cute, with feathers growing in and fluff falling out (although my friends still insist that they are cute) at this time, and right now my dog is staring at them with an intensity only a dog can have.

  4. anna caro Says:

    Oooh, good luck with the tomatos. I need to start grown capsicum again…

  5. This is fantastic! We have a few things in common. I’ve been posting pictures from my rose garden in between my postings about writing.

  6. Eliza Says:

    Good luck on the tomatoes! My husband and I just planted a tomato. We tried growing one two years ago and had sad results, but the place we live in now has much better light.


Leave a Reply

