Of Angels and Plants

The adventures of gardening

And when you thought spring was here… March 31, 2010

Filed under: Dog/ Angel,garden — Aeneas Anchises' son @ 7:56 pm

…the chilling rains come.

It was so warm, in the 70s and 80s the past few weeks, but now we have been plunged into rain and clouds. California probably needs the rain, but still, I want warmth! It was warm enough to leave my tomato, cucumber, and pepper seeds outside all day, but now I will probably need to move them back in. Sigh. At least I was able to add some compost to the bed near my rosemary bush. Angel dug it up, though. She can’t stay away from fresh dirt. And I thought that hounds weren’t the digging type.

On a happier note, my 2 tomatoes that survived a week of brutal heat have shown their true leaves and my cucumbers are showing some green, but are a bit slow to poke up and open their leaves. My lettuce, swiss chard, and some carrots have come up. The carrots don’t takes as long as most people say, probably because of the warm weather that we’ve been having.

 

Leave a Reply

